The Internet Core Computing Competencies Certification (IC3) is a global benchmark for basic computer literacy, including operating systems, hardware, software and networks. Successful completion of IC3 ensures you have the knowledge and skills required for basic use of computer hardware, software, networks and the internet.

Offered in 60 countries and recognized as having attained the highest professional and technical standards quality, IC3 offers an exciting pathway to advancement in education, employment, and other advanced certifications. IC3 is a recognized global standard in digital literacy. IC3 comprises learning and practice solutions, assessment tools and certifications specifically designed for a variety of ages and occupations.


Technology has become a part of our everyday lives, and understanding how to function in environments that require the use of computers and the Internet is more critical now than ever before.

Whether you plan to pursue a career in IT, or simply become more effective with technology, IC3 Digital Literacy Certification is the place to start.

In transition students, high school and university  students out of school youth and other professionals.

An IC3 certification identifies you as someone who has what it takes to succeed in today’s digital world where almost all jobs and academic institutions require basic computing knowledge and skills.

Don't just use technology, succeed with technology

To assess your progress, Certiport has partnered with GMetrix to deliver industry-leading practice tests. The tests include reporting and insight features, to ensure you are adequately prepared to take the final certification exam.

Here are some advantagesof GMetrix Practice Tests

  • Accurately replicate a “live application” testing environment
  • Enhance learning through self-paced practice questions
  • Build familiarity with the testing environment
  • Increase confidence towards certification exams
  • Better prepare students to pass certification exams

The IC3 Digital Literacy Global Standard 6 - The latest version...

The IC3 test is administered by Certiport. the IC3 Digital Literacy Suite of Products includes solutions that range from assessment to certification. IC3 Global Standard 4 (GS4) exam objectives are aligned with today’s most current technologies and relevant digital literacy requirements, including social media, collaboration, and cloud computing concepts.

The GS4 certification is comprised of three individual exams and is designed to validate competency in three key areas: Computing Fundamentals, Living Online, and Key Applications.

IC3 Digital Literacy Global Standard 6

IC3 Digital Literacy Global Standard 6 (GS6) is the latest version of the IC3 Digital Literacy program. This program has been restructured to address current computing concepts, including cloud and mobile technologies; to align closely with educational requirements and ensure learners of all ages can validate their understanding of Digital Literacy.

IC3 Digital Literacy allows candidates to demonstrate their ability to select and use the appropriate research, productivity, collaboration, and communications tools, to find reliable information, create content, communicate safely, and identify credibility and bias in modern digital environments.


The new structure is a comprehensive set of stackable certifications across seven digital literacy domains. It is composed of three exams, each awarding its own certificate, that validate an understanding of each domain at the basic, intermediate, and advanced levels.

  • Level 1 measures knowledge of fundamental concepts and essential components.
  • Level 2 requires a working knowledge of each of the seven skill groups.
  • Level 3 validates an advanced understanding of digital literacy and indicates that the candidate has the technical foundation needed to advance successfully along their educational and employment paths and support the development of more specialized technological skills.
    When a candidate succesfully passes all three Global Standard Six certification exams, they are awarded the IC3 Digital Literacy Master Certification and a Master Badge which display an advanced understanding of the concepts and principles within the
    IC3 Digital Literacy program objective domains.